The UK to double test new arrivals during the quarantine

New arrivals into the UK will now have two COVID-19 tests during their quarantine period. This new policy was meant to trace people with the new strain of COVID-19. 

Two separate tests for arrivals into the UK during isolation 

The UK health ministry has said it will be mandating all travelers into the country to get tested twice during quarantine to stop new strains from getting access to the country. The entrants will be made to do a test on the second day and eight days of their 10 days quarantine period, no matter where they are isolating. 

The health minister, Matt Hancock has promised to shed more information about this new directive at a later date.

This policy is in addition to the present rules which mandates travelers into the country irrespective of transport to show genuine evidence of a negative COVID-19 test before they are allowed access into the country. This coronavirus virus test should be undertaken 3 days before they travel, and travelers who violate such policy could pay fines as much as £600. 

New arrivals must isolate in hotels and be supervised 

New entrants must also give their contacts address and their home address in the UK before the travel. This new directive is needed due to concern about new strains that are resisting protection from vaccines. According to Professor Andrew Poland of the Oxford vaccine group, he said new results will soon be available because it seems that coronavirus keeps mutating to evade vaccine effectiveness. 

The UK's deputy medical officer Dr. Jonathan Van-Tam has said recent research shows that the South African variant isn't more transmissible than the Kent, it is not more worrying than the Kent variant which has affected many Britons. As of January 16, new arrivals from some nations will only be allowed to stay in hotels and not homes for about 10 days. 

They will be closely monitored by securities if they need to go anywhere. These apply primarily to Britons, and coronavirus hotspots like Brazil, Portugal, and South Africa.