The New Jersey Auto Insurance Laws are put in place to regulate and monitor the issuance of auto insurance policies in New Jersey as well as to monitor claims and benefits and penalize fraudulence and negligence of car insurance obligations.
LAWS CONCERNING AUTO INSURANCE POLICIES
The New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance mandates that all vehicles must have auto insurance else there will be corresponding penalties. The minimum required coverage is offered by the basic policy which entitles the holder to the following coverage otherwise known as state-required liabilities:
-Personal Injury Protection (PIP) $15,000 per person and per accident
-Property Damage Liability (PDL) at least $5,000 per accident
-Uninsured Motorist Coverage offers protection against damages caused to you or your vehicle by a vehicle that is not properly insured
Bodily Injury Liability is available as an option and pays $10,000 for injured persons and per accident.
In some cases, the department may recommend that certain individuals avail of auto insurance with wider coverage, for example if they have more familial responsibility and need not only to insure their person but also their loved ones. Copies of the New Jersey Auto Insurance Buyer’s Guide are available online as well as a copy of other informative texts (i.e. New Jersey Automobile Consumer Bill of Rights) if you require more information on which policy best suits your needs.
Individuals who do not follow the New Jersey Auto Insurance Laws will be rightfully penalized. Punishments are given in the following situations:
For Driving Without Insurance
First offenders are fined a value ranging from $300 to $1,000 for driving without auto insurance. Additionally, your driver’s license and/or registration will be suspended and you may need to serve time doing community service or serve time in jail. Be sure you are completely covered with New Jersey auto insurance from https://newjersey-insurance.net/new-jersey-auto-insurance.
For DUI’s or DWI’s
An offender is fined a value of thousands of dollars upwards penalty, have their license suspended from three months to one year and face up to thirty (30) days imprisonment.
For Cell Phone Use Without Auto Insurance
It is prohibited to use your mobile phone or handheld device while driving. Violators are fined a value of $100
REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE AND REGISTRATION
According to the New Jersey Insurance laws, you do not require to file an SR-22 Documents to recover your suspended license and or registration if you have been penalized for a DUI. This is of course unless you’re a registered driver outside the New Jersey.